Basilica of Maxentius: General view, from the south
Date
Circa 1910
Location
Architecture Library, Hesburgh Libraries
The building's northern aisle is all that remains; originally the nave had two side aisles (a three-aisled basilica). It was begun by the Emperor Maxentius (reigned AD 306-312), possibly following the fire of AD 307, but was only completed, in slightly altered form, after his death in the Battle of the Milvian Bridge (AD 312). The Senate subsequently dedicated it to his victorious rival Constantine. The collapse of the nave and south aisle in the medieval period created the imposing ruin visible today. It was a source of spolia for other buildings; the last remaining column was removed by Pope Paul V in 1613 to its present location in front of S Maria Maggiore in Rome.
Our collection information is a work in progress and may be updated as new research findings emerge. If you have spotted an error, please contact Architecture Library, Hesburgh Libraries at asklib@nd.edu.
Also from
Architectural Lantern Slides of Italy

Palazzo Farnese: Overall view, main facade

Episcopal Palace, Verona: Raking view of facade facing the Piazza Vescovado

Gate of Saint Nicholas, Florence: Overall view

San Clemente: Overall view of exterior facade behind the peristyle cloister courtyard

Church of Saint Anastasia, Verona: Overall view of unfinished brick facade

Basilica di Santa Maria della Salute: Overall exterior view, viewed from the Grand Canal
