Marble
University of Notre Dame
Loading navigation...

Royal Courts of Justice: Raking view of the facade facing the Strand, showing the clock tower at the end

Date

Circa 1910

Location

Architecture Library, Hesburgh Libraries

The London Times criticized the clock when first built: "Mr Street's new clock at the Law courts, hung out in the picturesque style of Bow Church, is surely too trivial and small." The Royal Courts of Justice, commonly called the Law Courts, is the building in London which houses the Court of Appeal of England and Wales and the High Court of Justice of England and Wales (Supreme Court). It was opened by Queen Victoria in December 1882. It is on The Strand, in the City of Westminster, near the border with the City of London (Temple Bar) and the London Borough of Camden. It is surrounded by the four Inns of Court and London School of Economics.

The London Times criticized the clock when first built: "Mr Street's new clock at the Law courts, hung out in the picturesque style of Bow Church, is surely too trivial and small."

The Royal Courts of Justice, commonly called the Law Courts, is the building in London which houses the Court of Appeal of England and Wales and the High Court of Justice of England and Wales (Supreme Court). It was opened by Queen Victoria in December 1882. It is on The Strand, in the City of Westminster, near the border with the City of London (Temple Bar) and the London Borough of Camden. It is surrounded by the four Inns of Court and London School of Economics.
Open external viewer application

Our collection information is a work in progress and may be updated as new research findings emerge. If you have spotted an error, please contact Architecture Library, Hesburgh Libraries at asklib@nd.edu.