Marble
University of Notre Dame
Loading navigation...

Town House called "House of Armagnac": Overall view

Date

Circa 1910

Location

Architecture Library, Hesburgh Libraries

The House of Armagnac is from the lineage of the ancient Dukes of Gascony, known since the eighth century. Its best known member is Bernard VII, Count of Armagnac and Rodez, Constable of France, leader of the Armagnacs opposed to the Burgundians during the Hundred Years War. This town house was built on the former site of the castle of the counts of Armagnac, which is why it is called "House of Armagnac". It was the possession of the family Daulhou (or d'Aulhou). The hôtel, one of the oldest in Rodez, dates from the first part of the sixteenth century. It is a harmonious blend of medieval and Renaissance architecture, decorated with medallions and other reliefs.

The House of Armagnac is from the lineage of the ancient Dukes of Gascony, known since the eighth century. Its best known member is Bernard VII, Count of Armagnac and Rodez, Constable of France, leader of the Armagnacs opposed to the Burgundians during the Hundred Years War. This town house was built on the former site of the castle of the counts of Armagnac, which is why it is called "House of Armagnac". It was the possession of the family Daulhou (or d'Aulhou). The hôtel, one of the oldest in Rodez, dates from the first part of the sixteenth century. It is a harmonious blend of medieval and Renaissance architecture, decorated with medallions and other reliefs.
Open external viewer application

Our collection information is a work in progress and may be updated as new research findings emerge. If you have spotted an error, please contact Architecture Library, Hesburgh Libraries at asklib@nd.edu.