- Home ›
- Architectural Lantern Slides›
- Architectural Lantern Slides of United Kingdom›
- Wells Cathedral ›
Wells Cathedral: Raking view of west facade and side Chapter House
The west front, completed ca. 1250, has about 300 remaining medieval statues; many of the figures, and their niches, were originally painted and gilded. The Chapter House was completed 1306.
The present cathedral, dedicated to St. Andrew, was built in two major periods: ca. 1185-1240 and ca. 1275-1350. It contains fine sculpture, monuments and stained glass. It is the seat of the Bishop of Bath and Wells, who lives at the adjacent Bishop's Palace. A unique feature in the crossing are the double pointed inverted arches, known as owl-eyed strainer arches, to stop the central tower from collapsing. The architect of the arches is unknown and the date is debated, ca. 1338-1350. Overall the cathedral's first phase was pointed Late Romanesque, transitioning into Early English--the beginnings of Gothic. The Perpendicular west towers were added ca. 1370 (south, by William Wynford) and ca. 1410.